I ♥ Tips in London

     I have this problem: everytime I discover a new place that I like, I want to live there. Maybe you have it too, hence, you know what I have to deal with: I want to live everywhere haha 😉 . This week-end, I walked around London with my friends and discovered such cute areas that I had to share the addresses with you.

527436_384891088198961_406315862_n

Where Should You Sleep?

     Depending on what your budget is, here are 3 hotels/hostels I would recommend you to stay in when you’re in London for a short time (2-4 Days Max.)

  • Acacia Hostel:
    Located in the French part of London, this “hostel” is very practical in terms of accessibility. Indeed, it is only 5min away from the underground and 2min away from buses, it is the only thing you look for when you’re in town for 2 days. Positive points: the prices are very cheap and the breakfast is always included. Moreover, if you have your student card, you might get a special discount.  The staff is very nice and welcoming and always available to help you find your way. Negative points:  don’t expect to be staying in a classy place. For the price you pay, you get access to dorms and the cleanliness is very weak… Shared bathroom and toilets.
  • LSE Vacations*
    A friend gave me this tip that you might want to use one day. If you are going to London for a week for example it is very interesting to be sleeping in LSE’s dorms. The prices are very competitive and you will enjoy having access to all transportation very fast. However, pay attention to the fact that you will have to book in advance.
  • Four Season Hotel:
    On my second London trip this is the place where I stayed. I had a great experience in this 3* venue from the check-in to the check-out. It is a small hotel located next to the Baker Street tube station. The staff is very welcomming and nice and the rooms are perfect for a short stay. Both the cleanliness and location were absolutely perfect and impeccable. I had a great surprise when I discovered the breakfast: fresh “pains au chocolat” and “croissants”, eggs, yoghurts, fruits etc. I believe that for a young couple you don’t need anything more in terms of accomodation. Of course if you are looking for a quiet area, I wouldn’t advise it as it is next to the street. Great advantage: free wifi!
Four Season Hotel Room
Four Season Hotel Room

How To Get Around?

Get to the city center from the airport:

  • Luton Airport
    First Capital Connect:
    When you arrive at the Luton airport, you buy a ticket for the “first capital connect” train and take the shuttle bus (10min, for real) until Lunton Airport Parkway. There you take the train that will take you to the station “St Pancras International” in 38 minutes max. This train station is huge and you might get lost in there. But then, to take the tube to reach the place you want to go to, you walk until the “King’s Cross station” (connection between St Pancras Intl and King’s Cross = 10min).
    Easybus/GreeenLine Bus:
    When I arrived in London with my friends last week-end, we didn’t know about this option we had in order to get in the city center. Indeed, you have to buy your bus tickets online before your departure. The price is very cheap but there are drawbacks of course: you don’t really arrive in the city center but you have a choice between Buckingham palace, Baker street etc… Careful, you must count approximately 1h20 for the trip from the airport to the stop you’ve chosen!

Underground tickets:

  • Oyster Card
    This plastic smartcard will allow you to travel around London without paying each time for a new ticket. It is valid for short-time periods or for longer stays because it can be credited anytime. If you’re a student, apply online on this link and get discounts on your travels. This card can be used for the buses, trains and underground. After you leave London you can still keep it for your next trip in the city!
  • Daily Underground Ticket
    When you go to London for a week-end, you might as well buy an underground ticket for the whole day. It costs 7£ and you can use it in the whole Underground (only) during the whole day.  

295222_381798788508191_256178213_n

Good to Know

  • If you are in London for the week-end, bring a good pair of sneakers, there will be a lot of walking 😉
  • In every shop and anytime you buy a transportation ticket, you have a student price (approximately 10%). BRING YOUR STUDENT ID.
  • You have night buses in case you are partying till late and don’t want to spend money on a cab!
  • You need an adaptor for your electronical devices 😉
  • At the Luton Airport or in any phone shop of the capital you can buy prepaid sim cards. I believe it is a good solution if you don’t want to spend too much on Roaming expenses!
  • If you want to learn more about London and have some other great addresses, please go on this BLOG. You won’t be disappointed !

 578363_384891791532224_304717933_n

Highlights

  • Portobello Market:
    Discover one of the most famous market in the world. Popular for the vintage shops and antiques stuff that are being sold, you will be amazed by the variety of the offer. You can shop, eat and watch, all at the same time 😉 More info
    HERE! Love the place!
Portobello Road
Portobello Road
16 comments

  1. Hi there, I discovered your site by way of Google even as looking for a similar subject, your site got here up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  2. Wow thanks for your comment! Ive visited your blog which I can see the main topic is London so im glad you liked my post even though it is not as complete as yours 🙂

    Come Back Soon ! Have a great day xoxo

  3. It is really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. I relish, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be having a look for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  6. Thank you for your sweet comment darling! I currently live in Australia on the sunny Gold Coast, which is super lovely but not quite Europe! 😉

    I can’t wait to see your new posts on London! Seriously, it’s so good to have a reference for all the lovely things to see and do there so I may be bothering you with copious questions later! Hehe.

    Following you on Bloglovin’ too by the way! Keep in touch!

    ❤ Mandy xx
    http://frocksandotherfrivolities.blogspot.com

  7. Ahhh, this is such a perfect post to stumble upon because I’m going to London in July! Thank you for sharing all these amazing places – definitely bookmarking it. 🙂

    Just discovered your blog and love it- the layout is so unique and the content is amazing! Hope you’ll come and visit mine too. 🙂

    ❤ Mandy xx
    http://frocksandotherfrivolities.blogspot.com

Give a lovely feedback

